Home
Programs
Application
Members
Areas of Research
International Students
Course Offerings
Job Opportunities
Contact Us

Members

The home department of each member is indicated by:

APA: School of Human Kinetics (University of Ottawa)
BIOL: Department of Biology (Carleton University)
CHG: Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (University of Ottawa)
CMM: Cellular and Molecular Medicine (University of Ottawa)
DOE: Department of Electronics (Carleton University)
DOS: Department of Surgery (University of Ottawa)
EECS: School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (University of Ottawa)
MAE: Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (Carleton University)
MAT: Department of Mathematics and Statistics (University of Ottawa)
MATH: Department of Mathematics and Statistics (Carleton University)
MCG: Department of Mechanical Engineering (University of Ottawa)
OEI: Eye Institute (University of Ottawa)
OHI: Heart Institute (University of Ottawa)
OHRI: The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (University of Ottawa)
ORA: Audiology and Speech Language Pathology (University of Ottawa)
PATH: Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine (University of Ottawa)
PED: Pediatrics (University of Ottawa)
PHYO: Department of Physics (University of Ottawa)
PHYS: Department of Physics (Carleton University)
PSY: Psychology (Carleton University)
SCE: Department of Systems and Computer Engineering (Carleton University)
SCS: School of Computer Science (Carleton University)
SID: School of Industrial Design (Carleton University)
SIT: School of Information Technology (Carleton University)
SRS: School of Rehabilitation Sciences (University of Ottawa)
TRC: The Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre (University of Ottawa)
TSM: Telfer School of Management (University of Ottawa)

Aboulnasr, Tyseer (EECS)
Digital Signal Processing, Adaptive Signal Processing, Signal and System Modeling
aboulnas@eecs.uottawa.ca
Adler, Andy (SCE)
Medical image processing, electrical impedance tomography, physiological monitoring, biometrics
adler@sce.carleton.ca
Ahmadi, Mojtaba (MAE)
Robotic analysis, design, and control, machine and biological locomotion, mechatronics, simulation, virtual reality, distributed and real-time control
mahmadi@mae.carleton.ca
Aitken, Victor (SCE)
Distributed processes, process control
Victor.Aitken@sce.carleton.ca
Amyot, Daniel (EECS)

damyot@eecs.uottawa.ca
Anis, Hanan (EECS)
Photonics Devices and Systems, Engineering Management
hanan@eecs.uottawa.ca
Baddour, Nathalie (MCG)
Modeling of signal analysis in biomedical applications
nbaddour@eng.uottawa.ca
Banihashemi, Amir (SCE)
Information and Coding Theory, Bioinformatics and Genetic Coding, Image and Video Processing and Transmission
Amir.Banihashemi@sce.carleton.ca
Barbeau, Michel (SCS)
Telecommunications software, distributed systems, mobile and wireless networks
barbeau@scs.carleton.ca
Bell, Robert (MAE)
Finite element analysis, stress analysis, solid mechanics, fracture mechanics
rbell@mae.carleton.ca
Benoit, Daniel (SRS)
Musculoskeletal biomechanics; neuromuscular control; in vivo and in vitro analysis of joint stability
dbenoit@uottawa.ca
Berini, Pierre (EECS)

berini@eecs.uottawa.ca
Bertossi, Leopold (SCS)
Database and intelligent information systems, knowledge representation
bertossi@scs.carleton.ca
Bolic, Miodrag (EECS)

mbolic@eecs.uottawa.ca
Bouchard, Martin (EECS)
Signal Processing for Speech / Audio / Acoustics / Hearing Aids, Adaptive Filtering
bouchard@eecs.uottawa.ca
Boukerche, Azzedine (EECS)
Large-Scale Distributed Simulations, Algorithms and Systems, Mobile Computing and Networking, Sensors Network
boukerch@eecs.uottawa.ca
Bourgault, Yves (MAT)
Numerical methods, mathematical modeling
ybourg@uOttawa.ca
Briand, Lionel (SCE)
Software reliability and certification
Lionel.Briand@sce.carleton.ca
Cao, Xudong (CHG)
Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering
xcao@eng.uOttawa.ca
Catelas, Isabelle (MCG)

icatelas@uOttawa.ca
Chan, Adrian (SCE)
Biological signal processing, physiological monitoring, pattern recognition
adcchan@sce.carleton.ca
Cheetham, Jim (BIOL)
Membrane biochemistry, bioinformatics
james_cheetham@carleton.ca
Clackdoyle, Rolf (PHYS)
Image reconstruction from projections, PET, SPECT, CT reconstruction methods.
rolf.clackdoyle@univ-st-etienne.fr
Dajani, Hilmi (EECS)

hdajani@eecs.uottawa.ca
Dansereau, Richard (SCE)
Digital signal and image processing, biomedical and biometric applications, fractal and multifractal complexity measures: Renyi dimension measures, wavelets
rdanse@sce.carleton.ca
Dawson, Jeff (BIOL)

jeff_dawson@carleton.ca
de Kemp, Robert (OHI)
Medical physics
radekemp@ottawaheart.ca
Dehne, Frank (SCS)
Parallel processing, coarse grained parallel computing, parallel computational geometry, parallel data mining, parallel computational biology
dehne@scs.carleton.ca
Deugo, Dwight (SCS)
Large-scale distributed object computing, evolutionary computation (genetic algorithms, genetic programming, artificial life) and object-oriented systems
deugo@scs.carleton.ca
Marc, Doumit (MECH)
Artificial muscles, Exoskeletons, Prosthetic and orthotic limbs, Bio-Inspired Designs, Smart materials and structures
marc.doumit@uottawa.ca
Dube, Marc (CHG)
Polymer reaction engineering, adhesives and coatings from emulsion polymers, pilot plant testing of new sensor technology, parameter estimation
Marc.Dube@UOttawa.ca
Dubois, Eric (EECS)
Digital signal processing, multidimensional signal processing, data compression, source coding, image/video processing and coding
edubois@eecs.uottawa.ca
El-Saddik, Abdulmotaleb (EECS)
Collaborative Environments & Multimedia Communications, Web Engineering, Haptic Audio Visual Environments
elsaddik@eecs.uottawa.ca
Ennett, Colleen (SCE)
Medical informatics, medical decision support systems
colleen.ennett@philips.com
Fenech, Marianne (MCG)

mfenech@uOttawa.ca
Frankel, Lois (SID)
User interfaces and industrial design
lois_frankel@carleton.ca
Frei, Hans Peter (MAE)

hfrei@mae.carleton.ca
Frize, Monique (SCE)
Biomedical instrumentation, clinical engineering, infrared imaging, decision-support systems in medicine, ethics in engineering and human experimentation
mfrize@connect.carleton.ca
Giguere, Christian (ORA)
Audiology and hearing aids
cgiguere@uottawa.ca
Godin, Michel (PHYO)
Experimental Biophysics, Biosensing, Microfluidics, Nanofluidics, Lab-on-a-Chip, Medical Diagnostics, Biotechnology, Microfabrication, Microdevices, Disease Biomarkers
mgodin@uottawa.ca
Goubran, Rafik (SCE)
Signal processing, sensors, digital systems design, adaptive systems, beam-forming, heart and lung sound analysis, smart homes, echo and noise cancellation
goubran@sce.carleton.ca
Green, James (SCE)
Bioinformatics, machine learning, nonlinear system identification
james_green@carleton.ca
Groza, Voicu (EECS)
Real-time Embedded Systems, Smart Sensors Networks, Reconfigurable Computing, Distributed Intelligent Instrumentation
groza@eecs.uottawa.ca
Gu, Junjie (MAE)
Transport phenomena in micro-scale processes, direct methanol fuel cells
jgu@mae.carleton.ca
Gueaieb, Wail (EECS)
Machine Intelligence & Mechatronics, Robotics & Control Systems, Computational Intelligence
wgueaieb@eecs.uOttawa.ca
Haddad, Haissam (OHI)
Cardiology
hhaddad@ottawaheart.ca
Hayes, John (MAE)
Space robotics, automated optical robot calibration systems, robot mechanical systems, theoretical kinematics
jhayes@mae.carleton.ca
Ionescu, Daniel (EECS)

ionescu@eecs.uottawa.ca
Jarosz, Boguslaw (PHYS)
Medical physics
jarosz@physics.carleton.ca
Jodoin, Bertrand (MCG)
Thermofluids, plasma physics
jodoin@eng.uOttawa.ca
Johns, Paul (PHYS)
Medical physics
johns@physics.carleton.ca
Johnson, Matthew (MAE)
Combustion/fluid mechanics
mjohnson@mae.carleton.ca
Joslin, Chris (SCE)

chris_joslin@carleton.ca
Kelly, Jack (PSY)
Central auditory system, electrophysiology and behaviour
jack_kelly@carleton.ca
Knoefel, Frank-Dietrich (SCE)
Geriatric rehabilitation, role of technology in aging in place
amanda_dobbie@carleton.ca
Klein, Ran (UOHI, SCE)
Cardiac Imaging, Image Analysis, Medical Devices
rklein@ottawaheart.ca
Kovesi, Thomas (SCE)
Respirology
kovesi@cheo.on.ca
Kranakis, Evangelos (SCS)
Communication networks, distributed computing, network security
kranakis@scs.carleton.ca
Kunz, Thomas (SCE)
Mobile, Pervasive, and ubitquitous computing, wireless network protocol
Thomas.Kunz@sce.carleton.ca
Labrosse, Michel (MCG)
Mechanics of heart valve and cardiovascular tissues , Mechanical aspects in development of cardiovascular diseases, Friction and fatigue life of materials
labrosse@genie.uottawa.ca
Laganiere, Robert (EECS)
Computer vision, image processing
laganier@eecs.uOttawa.ca
Lamontagne, Mario (APA)
Musculo-skeletal knee joint model, mechanical effect of functional knee braces, plantar pressure distribution during winter sports
mlamon@uottawa.ca
Lan, Christopher (CHG)
Biochemical engineering, separation technology
clan@eng.uOttawa.ca
Lang, Jochen (EECS)

jlang@eecs.uottawa.ca
Lee, WonSook (EECS)
Face recognition, human-computer interaction, VR in health care
wslee@eecs.uottawa.ca
Leenen, Frans (OHI)
Brain mechanisms determining sympathetic hyperactivity, the role of circulatory versus cardiac renin-angiotensin system in cardiac hypertrophy and remodeling, and antihypertensive agents and the heart
fleenen@ottawaheart.ca
Lemaire, Edward (APA, TRC)
Assistive devices, mobility, physical rehabilitation, telerehabilitation
elemaire@ottawahospital.on.ca
Liang, Ming (MCG)

liang@genie.uottawa.ca
Lindgaard, Gitte (PSY)
User interfaces and human computer interaction
gitte_lindgaard@carleton.ca
Liu, Peter (SCE)
Interactive networked systems, robotics, intelligent systems, sensor networks
xpliu@sce.carleton.ca
Longtin, Andre (PHYO)
Nonlinear dynamics, biophysics
alongtin@uottawa.ca
MacEachern, Leonard (DOE)
VLSI, analog IC design, image sensors
len@doe.carleton.ca
Mahmoud, Samy (SCE)
Wireless networks, distributed databases, radio packet switching
Samy.Mahmoud@sce.carleton.ca
Mao, Yongyi (EECS)
Graphical models and statistical inference, communications, bioinformatics
yymao@eecs.uottawa.ca
Matida, Edgar (MAE)
Pharmaceutical aerosols (inhalation devices), large eddy simulation
ematida@mae.carleton.ca
Mavriplis, Catherine (MCG)
Numerical methods for fluid dynamics and interdisciplinary applications: Combustion, MEMS and meteorology. Aerospace engineering, including aerodynamics, transition and receptivity. High order methods and adaptivity.
catherine.mavriplis@uottawa.ca
Mills, Shirley (MATH)
Data mining, applied statistics, decision support, classification and pattern recognition, dynamic network analysis
smills@math.carleton.ca
Munger, Rejean (OEI)
Medical photonics
rmunger@ottawahospital.on.ca
Mussivand, Tofy (OHI)
Medical devices design, evaluation (in vitro, in vivo, clinical), artificial heart sensors, valves and prosthetics
tmussivand@ottawaheart.ca
Murugkar, Sangeeta (PHY)
Biomedical optical imaging and spectroscopy, Miniaturized Instrumentation, Nanobiophotonics
smurugkar@physics.carleton.ca
Naguib, Raouf (SCE)
Medical informatics, medical decision support systems
r.naguib@coventry.ac.uk
Necsulescu, Dan (MCG)

necsules@genie.uottawa.ca
Nganbe, Michel (MCG)

mnganbe@uOttawa.ca
Nussbaum, Doron (SCS)
Computational geometry, medical computing, parallel and distributed computing, geographic information systems, robotics and machine vision, data structures and algorithms
nussbaum@scs.carleton.ca
Omelon, Sidney (MCG)
Crystallization engineering, Biomineralization
somelon@uottawa.ca
Ono, Yuu (SCE)
ultrasonic sensor and instrument, physiological monitoring, tissue characterization
yuuono@sce.carleton.ca
Panario, Daniel (MATH)
Discrete mathematics and algorithms, finite fields and applications
daniel@math.carleton.ca
Paquet, Eric (EECS)
Anthropometric Visual Information Processing, 2D and 3D Content Indexing, Tomography
eric.paquet@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Parush, Avi (PSY)

avi_parush@carleton.ca
Payeur, Pierre (EECS)
3-D modeling for robotics, computer vision, autonomous systems
ppayeur@eecs.uottawa.ca
Perkins, Theodore (EECS,BMI)
bioinformatics, computational biology, bioimage informatics, stochastic processes, machine learning
tperkins@ohri.ca
Petriu, Dorina (SCE)
Performance evaluation, software engineering, database systems
Dorina.Petriu@sce.carleton.ca
Petriu, Emil (EECS)
Robotics, sensing and perception, neural networks
petriu@eecs.uottawa.ca
Peyton, Liam (EECS)
Software engineering, e-commerce, and business process automation
lpeyton@eecs.uottawa.ca
Radulescu, Matei (MCG)

matei@uottawa.ca
Rolland-Lagan, Anne-Gaelle (EECS)

arolland@uottawa.ca
Russell, Donald (MAE)
Dynamics, controls, medical device design
donald_russell@carleton.ca
Ryan, Jim (SCE)
Hearing aids, signal processing
jryan@sounddes.com
Schriemer, Henry (EECS)
Nanosystems, Photonics, Wave Transport, Scanning Probe Microscopy, Finite Element Analysis
hschriem@eecs.uOttawa.ca
Shirmohammadi, Shervin ()

shervin@discover.uottawa.ca
Some, Stephane (EECS)
Software Engineering, Requirements Engineering, Reverse Engineering, Program Comprehension
ssome@eecs.uOttawa.ca
Speirs, Andrew (MAE)
Orthopaedic biomechanics, Cartilage biomechanics and osteoarthritis, Femoroacetabular impingement, Biomechanical causes of musculoskeletal diseases and degeneration, Medical imaging and tissue function
andrew.speirs@carleton.ca
Suuronen, Erik ()

esuuronen@ottawaheart.ca
Sveistrup, Heidi (APA)
Physiotherapy
hsveist@uottawa.ca
Tait, Niall (DOE)
MEMS, sensors, IC fabrication
niall@doe.carleton.ca
Tarr, Garry (DOE)
Solid state devices, IC fabrication
ngt@doe.carleton.ca
Tavoularis, Stavros (MCG)
Fluid mechanics, experimental techniques
tav@genie.uOttawa.ca
Taylor, David (CHG)
Computer-assisted learning, object-oriented design
taylor@eng.uOttawa.ca
Tezel, Handan (CHG)
Adsorption and diffusion for separation and biomedical applications, gas and liquid separations for industrial applications, environmental air and water pollution control
handan.tezel@uottawa.ca
Tremblay, Andre (CHG)
Membrane science and technology, interfacial phenomena
tremblay@uOttawa.ca
Tsai, Eve ()

etsai@ottawahospital.on.ca
Turcotte, Marcel (EECS)
Bioinformatics, algorithm design, applications of machine learning
turcotte@eecs.uottawa.ca
Van Oorschot, Paul (SCS)
Authentication, software security, network security, applied cryptography, software protection, security infrastructures
paulv@scs.carleton.ca
Variola, Fabio (MCG)
Biomaterials, surface science, materials science and engineering ,nanotechnology, metallurgy, corrosion
fabio.variola@uottawa.ca
Viktor, Herna (EECS)
Data mining and machine learning, health informatics
hlviktor@eecs.uOttawa.ca
Wainer, Gabriel (SCE)
Discrete event simulation, modeling and simulation methodologies, parallel and distributed simulation, real-time systems
Gabriel.Wainer@sce.carleton.ca
White, Anthony (SCE)
Mobile agents, swarm and collective intelligence, evolutionary computing (artificial life, genetic algorithms, programming), internet applications, peer-to-peer computing
arpwhite@scs.carleton.ca
Yagoub, Mustapha (EECS)
Microwaves and Applied Electromagnetics, RF Monitoring of Medical Equipment and Patients, RFIDs
myagoub@eecs.uottawa.ca
Yao, Jianping (EECS)

jpyao@eecs.uottawa.ca
Yaras, Metin (MAE)
Cardiovasular assist devices, turbomachinery, aerodynamics, computational fluid dynamics
metin_yaras@carleton.ca
Ye, Winnie (DOE)
Micro- and nano-photonics and applications in biomedicine, telecommunication, and renewable energy
winnie_ye@carleton.ca
Tong, Xu (PHY)
X-ray Imaging, Radiation Therapy, Real time motion tracking, Imaged guided interventions, GPU based Parallel computing for medical physics.
txu.@physics.carleton.ca
Zhao, Yiqiang (MATH)
Applied probability, algorithms and simulation
zhao@math.carleton.ca
Zhao, Jiying (EECS)
Image and Video Processing, Multimedia Communications
jyzhao@eecs.uottawa.ca